Vous êtes ici : Welcome Vineyards and the Region Grape Varieties

share your experiences

A bit about ampelography…

This strange sounding word refers to the discipline dedicated to vines and most especially grape varieties.

Each grape variety is differentiated by physical features (color, shape and size of bunches, berries and leaves) and physiological traits (flowering, maturity, sugar content, tannins, aromatic substances, etc.). Part of the grower’s and winemaker’s work is therefore that of picking varieties that match well with a particular soil and climate in view of revealing the terroir’s full potential.

The Loire Valley – The widest spectrum of wines worldwide

The Loire’s 12 grape varieties include Cabernet Franc, Chenin, Melon de Bourgogne or Sauvignon. This unique array of varieties offers a very diverse range of highly expressive wines.

Chenin:

The Loire’s cool climate and soil types enhance this variety, the products of which range from very dry to very sweet, and from still to super premium sparkling wines. Chenin is strongly influenced by the profile of the soil: clay brings about rich and textured wines, whereas chalk and limestone provide vibrant and fresh wines with good tension. Radiant, nervous and fruity, Chenin associates green apple and greengage plum aromas with floral notes. Mineral and cut grass notes also come to the fore.

Cabernet Franc:

The vineyard of the Saint Nicolas de Bourgueil Abbey was the first to use this Loire Valley variety during the 17th century. Generally single varietals, these wines are fruity and slightly full-bodied, with exceptional charm, evoking violet and raspberry aromas. Cabernet Franc is also used to elaborate a vast array of delicate and crisp rosés, ranging from semi-dry to dry. The specificity of Maison Ackerman is that of adding it to most of its Méthode traditionnelle sparkling wines in view of obtaining structure and a distinct aromatic style.

Sauvignon:

This traditional grape boasts good vivacity with distinct aromas of cranberry, citrus fruit, herbs and boxwood, underscored by a zest of spicy acidity. This is a fragile variety that is very sensitive to the soil and the climate. Sauvignon is one of the most aromatic varieties, with plenty of nuances, which are highly influenced by the terroirs. Originating from the Loire Valley, the region’s Sauvignon is world renowned, thanks to the notoriety of its appellations (Touraine, Sancerre…).

Melon de Bourgogne (Muscadet):

This variety is precocious and resists well to the cold and frost. The wines made from this variety display good vivacity and heaps of freshness in their youth. However, when they are planted in infertile terroirs, they can still age well and rival the greatest white wines in terms of complexity and length on the palate.

“The matter and the richness of the wines of the Loire Valley, whatever their color and style, do not mask tasty fruitiness, maturity and freshness, harmony and accessibility.” Olivier Poussier, World’s Best Sommelier 2000

Maison Ackerman’s winemakers

Knowledge about grape varieties is without a doubt one of the great qualities of Maison Ackerman. Indeed, our winemakers intervene from the vine through to the wine glass. As a result, they oversee vine-growing, harvesting, winemaking, blending, and maturing, in view of providing the very best expression of our grape varieties.

Our winemakers guarantee the quality of our products. Their profession calls upon all of their senses and expertise, as if a perfume maker constantly trying to create subtle fragrances. In the world of wine, it is the winemaking expert who sublimates the perfume initially generated by Nature.

Find out more about the production of sparkling wines

Vous êtes ici : Accueil Vignobles et Région Cépages

envie de partager …

Un peu d’ampélographie…

Ce nom un peu étrange désigne tout simplement la discipline qui étudie la vigne et plus particulièrement les cépages. Le cépage est la variété du raisin.

Chaque cépage se différencie par des caractères morphologiques (couleur, forme et volume des grappes et des baies, découpure des feuilles) et physiologiques (floraison, maturité, teneur en sucres, tanins, substances aromatiques, etc.). Une partie du travail du vigneron et de l’œnologue consiste donc à choisir les cépages en harmonie avec un sol et un climat particulier afin d’en exprimer le meilleur.

 

Le Val de Loire – le plus grand éventail de vins au monde

Parmi les 12 cépages de Loire, on peut citer le Cabernet Franc, le Chenin, le Melon de Bourgogne ou le Sauvignon. Cette palette de cépages unique offre une gamme de vins très diversifiée et de haute expression.

Chenin :

Le climat frais de la Loire et la variété des sols magnifient ce cépage, son expression allant d’un vin très sec à un vin liquoreux, d’un vin tranquille à un très grand vin effervescent. Le profil du sol imprègne fortement le Chenin : la terre argileuse produit des vins riches et texturés, tandis que la craie et le calcaire offrent des vins vibrants et frais, avec une belle tension. Brillant, nerveux et fruité, le Chenin associe des arômes de pomme verte et de prune reine-claude à des nuances florales. Parfois, il s’exprime aussi sur des notes minérales et d’herbe coupée.

Cabernet Franc :

Le vignoble de l’abbaye de St Nicolas de Bourgueil fut le 1er à utiliser ce cépage en Val de Loire, au 17ème siècle. En général mono-cépage, ces vins sont fruités et légèrement corsés, dotés d’un charme exceptionnel évoquant des arômes de violette et framboise. Le Cabernet Franc est également utilisé pour élaborer un large assortiment de rosés, délicieux et rafraichissants, allant de demi-sec à sec. La Maison Ackerman a la spécificité d’utiliser le Cabernet Franc dans la plus part de ses cuvée de Méthodes traditionnelles, qui leur apporte structure et signature aromatique.

Sauvignon :

Ce cépage classique est d’une belle vivacité, avec des saveurs affirmées de groseille, d’agrumes, d’herbes et de buis, soulignées par un zeste cristallin d’acidité piquante. Cépage fragile, très sensible au sol et au climat. Le sauvignon est l’un des cépages les plus aromatiques, avec des nuances multiples fortement influencées par les terroirs. Originaire du Val de Loire, le style du sauvignon Ligérien est une référence mondialement reconnue via la renommée de ses appellations (Touraine, Sancerre,…).

Melon de Bourgogne (Muscadet) :

Ce cépage est précoce et résiste bien au froid et au gel. Les vins issus de ce cépage ont une bonne vivacité et beaucoup de fraîcheur dans leur jeunesse. Sur certains terroirs peu fertiles, ils ont néanmoins une grande aptitude au vieillissement et rivalisent avec les plus grands vins blancs en terme de complexité et de longueur en bouche.

 

« Dans le vignoble ligérien, la matière et la richesse des vins, quels que soient la couleur et le style, n’effacent en rien la gourmandise du fruit, la maturité et la fraîcheur, l’harmonie et la facilité gustative. »
Olivier Poussier, Meilleur sommelier 2000.

Les œnologues de la Maison Ackerman

L’expertise des cépages est sans conteste un des grands savoir-faire de la Maison Ackerman. En effet, nos œnologues interviennent de la vigne au verre. Ainsi ils supervisent la conduite du vignoble, les vendanges, les vinifications, les assemblages et l’élevage afin de pouvoir vous offrir la meilleure expression de nos cépages.

Nos œnologues garantissent la qualité de nos produits. Leur métier fait appel à tous leurs sens et leur expertise, tel un parfumeur cherchant sans cesse à créer de subtiles fragrances. Dans le monde du vin, c’est l’expert œnologue qui sublime le parfum généré initialement par la Nature.