Vous êtes ici : Welcome Vineyards and the Region The Exceptionl Loire Valley

share your experiences

The Promises of the Loire Valley

The wines of the Loire Valley thrive in a unique cultural landscape, classified as a World Heritage site by UNESCO.

Situated in four regions, the Loire Valley vineyard extends across over 65,000 hectares, and represents 800 km of wine routes. The region includes Pays Nantais, Anjou-Saumur, Touraine and Centre Loire.

The architectural heritage of the region’s historic towns is remarkable, with most especially over 300 fabulous castles such as Chambord, Amboise, Ussé, Villandry, Chenonceau and Saumur. They bear witness to the great builders of France, the footprint of which, ranges from the indispensable fortifications of the 10th century through to the magnificent constructions that appeared half a century later.

When the kings of France began to build their impressive castles here, they were followed by aristocrats, who wanted to stay close to the seat of power. Their presence in this luxurious and fertile valley drew in turn the best landscapers. In addition to the numerous castles, the region’s cultural monuments illustrate to an exceptional degree, the ideals of the Renaissance and the Age of the Enlightenment in the realm of thought and the creation of Western Europe.

A Great winegrowing region

The Loire Valley is the 3rd largest growing region in France and represents from the Atlantic coast to the Centre region, a point of equilibrium between north and south, suavity and freshness, art and literature, tradition and modernity. The harmonious combination of these differences, fostered by an overall mild climate and remarkably diverse terroirs, have produced the world’s vastest array of wines.

" Some experts say that the wines of the Loire Valley are France’s New World wines. They are becoming increasingly popular with the best sommeliers and wine critics, thanks to their great diversity." Loire Secrets

The Valley of the Kings

The Valley of the Kings, the other name of the Loire Valley, possesses many castles previously belonging to the kings of France. From the rim of Sancerre through to the Loire’s estuary, the vineyards boast a string of appellations situated on hillsides and in small valleys.

From upstream to downstream (from east to west), the Loire is punctuated by the vines of the following regions: Centre, Touraine, Anjou-Saumur and Nantes.

These four production areas represent around 70 appellations and denominations of origin reflecting all of the richness and diversity of the Loire’s soils and climates, as well as the vine-growing and winemaking techniques implemented by local farmers.

The terroir brings together all of the factors in the vineyard’s ecosystem: soil, subsoil, climate, and topography.

The Loire’s vine-growing areas have flourished thanks to the specific diversity of its vast array of soils, reliefs and expositions. The different terroirs are fully expressed through the huge choice of wines even when they are made from the same varieties.

The Pays Nantais
The Pays Nantais is lulled by a maritime climate, which has very minor variations. The soils are made up of schists, gneiss and sedimentary rocks and are particularly suitable for viticulture.

Anjou – Saumurois
This region benefits from a mild, damp climate with a maritime influence. Anjou is composed of primary schists, offering a wide range of wines. Saumurois with its sedimentary rocks dominated by chalk and tuffeau limestone also produces diverse wines including refined sparkling wines. The chalky soils support and shape the vines.

Touraine
This region benefits from a temperate climate and complex soil made up of a mixture of limestones, gravels, sand and clays, all of which foster the growth of not only vines, but also flowers, fruit and ….castles.

Centre
The Centre region is subject to a semi-continental climate. The vineyards are planted on very diverse soils comprising marl limestone clay, pebbly limestone and flinty-clay, dominated in some places by marls and limestones.

Appellation d’Origine Protégée (AOP), a guarantee of authenticity and quality

AOP indicates the place where a product is made: Saumur, Chinon, Vouvray, Sancerre, etc. To obtain the right to use this designation, a wine has to be made according to time-honored local techniques, from clearly identified and recognized varieties within delimited terroirs. Moreover, they have to be made according to the traditional expertise of the places bearing their name. The méthode traditionnelle for refined sparkling wines is a perfect example.

The AOC system was created in France on the basis of a decree law dating back to the 30th of July 1935. This initiative is the strength of French winegrowing culture and legislation. It was put into place as French wine had suffered from counterfeiting throughout the 19th century. On the 19th of March 1939, AOC Saumur Brut, also called Fines bulles was born. For local sparkling wine merchants, the creation of this appellation was a genuine recognition from the industry. At present, annual production is about 90,000 hectoliters from a territory representing the surface area of Saumur’s former administrative district (1,500 hectares).

Vous êtes ici : Accueil Vignobles et Région L’Exceptionnel Val de Loire

envie de partager …

Les promesses du Val de Loire

Les vins du Val de Loire s’épanouissent dans un paysage culturel unique, classé patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.
Le vignoble du Val de Loire s’étend sur plus de 65 000 ha, répartis sur 4 régions et 800 km de route des vins. La région comprend le Pays Nantais, l’Anjou-Saumur, la Touraine et le Centre Loire.

Le patrimoine architectural des villes historiques de la région est remarquable, les châteaux en particulier, tels que Chambord, Amboise, Ussé, Villandry, Chenonceau et Saumur. Ces châteaux, plus de 300, sont les témoins d’une nation de grands bâtisseurs, à commencer par les fortifications indispensables du 10ème siècle, jusqu’aux magnifiques constructions érigées un demi millénaire plus tard.

Quand les rois de France ont commencé à construire leurs imposants châteaux ici, la noblesse a suivi, ne voulant pas s’éloigner du haut lieu du pouvoir. Sa présence dans cette luxuriante et fertile vallée a attiré à son tour les meilleurs paysagistes. Outre les nombreux châteaux, les monuments culturels de la région illustrent à un degré exceptionnel, les idéaux de la Renaissance et du Siècle des Lumières, dans le domaine de la pensée et de la création de l’Europe occidentale.

Une grande région viticole

Le Val de Loire, 3ème grande région viticole française, représente, de l'Atlantique à la Région Centre, le point d'équilibre entre le sud et le nord, la suavité et la fraîcheur, les arts et les lettres, la tradition et la modernité. De ces mélanges harmonieux, favorisés par un climat globalement tempéré et des terroirs remarquablement variés, est née la plus grande diversité de vins au monde.

"Certains experts aiment à dire que les vins de Loire représentent le « nouveau monde » des vins français. La popularité des vins de Loire s’accroit auprès des meilleurs sommeliers et critiques en œnologie en raison de leur grande diversité" Loire Secrets

La «Vallée des Rois»

La « Vallée des Rois », l'autre nom du Val de Loire, est un lieu d’implantation de nombreux châteaux des rois de France. Depuis les confins du Sancerrois jusqu’à l’estuaire de la Loire, la vigne égrène un chapelet d’Appellations le long de ses coteaux et vallons.

D’amont en aval (d’est en ouest), la Loire est jalonnée par les vignobles du Centre, de la Touraine, de l’Anjou et du Saumurois et, enfin, du pays Nantais.

Ces quatre vignobles regroupent près de 70 appellations et dénominations d’origine qui reflètent toute la richesse et la diversité des sols, des climats et des techniques de culture et de vinification employées par les femmes et les hommes qui y cultivent la vigne.

Le terroir est composé de l’ensemble des facteurs de l’écosystème de la vigne : sol, sous-sol, climat, topographie.
Les vignobles de Loire se sont épanouis avec la diversité spécifique à la mosaïque des sols, des reliefs et des orientations. Les différences de terroirs s’expriment pleinement dans la grande variété des vins bien qu’issus des mêmes cépages.

Pays nantais 
Le pays Nantais est bercé par un climat océanique, avec des variations très atténuées. Les sols constitués de schistes, gneiss et roches sédimentaires se prêtent particulièrement à la viticulture.

Anjou – Saumurois 
Cette région bénéficie d'un climat doux et humide, d'influence océanique. L'Anjou constitué de schistes primaires propose une palette très diversifiée de vins : le Saumurois avec ses terrains sédimentaires au sein desquels dominent craie et tuffeau, présente aussi des vins diversifiés dont les vins à fines bulles. Les terres crayeuses portent et façonnent les vignes.

Touraine 

Cette province bénéficie d'un climat tempéré et d'une terre complexe ou se mêlent les calcaires, les graves, le sable et les argiles, ce qui favorise l'épanouissement de la vigne mais aussi des fleurs, des fruits et des… châteaux.

Centre 
Le Centre est soumis à un climat semi continental. Le vignoble est implanté sur des sols très diversifiés terres blanches, caillottes et terres argilo-siliceuses et peut être par endroits dominé par les marnes et calcaires.

"Les vins d'appellations d'origine contrôlée (AOC) sont des vins produits dans des terroirs délimités en fonction de caractéristiques climatologiques, pédologiques et historiques précises. Ils doivent satisfaire à des conditions de production déterminées par l'Institut national des appellations d'origine contrôlée (INAO)." Ref Senat, un site au service ds citoyens

L’Appellation d’Origine Protégée (AOP), gage d’authenticité et de qualité

Une appellation d’origine contrôlée (AOC) indique une unité de lieu : Saumur, Chinon, Vouvray, Sancerre, etc. Pour bénéficier d’une AOC, le vin doit être élaboré selon des usages « locaux, loyaux et constants », à partir de cépages clairement identifiés et reconnus sur des terroirs délimités. De plus, ils doivent être vinifiés en conformité avec les savoir-faire traditionnels des lieux d’où ils tirent leur nom. La méthode traditionnelle pour les vins à fines bulles en est un parfait exemple.

C’est par un décret-loi du 30 juillet 1935 que le système des AOC a été mis en place en France. Ce système fait aujourd’hui la force de la culture et de la législation viticole française afin de la protéger des falsifications dont elle faisait l’objet tout au long du XIXe siècle.

Le 19 mars 1939, l’AOC « Saumur Brut », appelée aussi « Fines bulles » est créée. Pour les négociants en vins effervescents du Saumurois, il s’agissait d’une véritable reconnaissance dans le paysage viticole français. Aujourd’hui, la production annuelle s’élève à 90 000 hectolitres sur un territoire qui correspond à l’ancien arrondissement administratif de Saumur (1500 hectares).